Showing posts with label crime and (no) punishment. Show all posts
Showing posts with label crime and (no) punishment. Show all posts

Wednesday, August 26, 2009

Fed Up

James K. Galbraith has an interesting review of a book about the bailout.

Monday, May 05, 2008

Is This a Real Question?

From NPR:
Politics & Society
If Your Neighbor Poses as Your Husband, Is it Rape?

Day to Day, May 5, 2008 · Massachusetts is the latest state to consider putting a new crime on the books: rape by fraud. Currently, a sex act only qualifies as rape if physical force is used. We talk to a woman who was tricked into having sex with her boyfriend's brother, who pretended to be her boyfriend — and unable to convict him of rape because of this limited definition.

Yes, that's fucking rape. It's not about physical force, it's about consent. What the fuck is wrong with Massachusetts? A woman who consents to have sex with her husband, and then when the lights come on finds out it's an impostor, was just raped by any common sense interpretation of the term I can fathom. I cannot even believe this is a law.

--

Oh, and do you know what else is rape? THIS. And the fucking assholes in Oklahoma just wrote this into law...

Tuesday, February 12, 2008

Too Pissed For a Clever Headline

The FISA Court and statute is no longer the exclusive governing authority for how surveillance can be conducted in America. It’s wide fucking open now.

Oh, and telecoms get immunity.

Fucked over retroactively and going forward. Nice job Reid and the rest of you fucking clowns.

And a special “Fuck You!” to Hillary for making sure she got a 21-day jump on building her Texas sandbag wall and skipping the vote altogether.

Also, Debbie Stabenow is now twelve feet down she is so fucking dead to me.

Much more on this to come. Trust me.

Monday, December 17, 2007

The Lion Roars

Sen. Edward Kennedy, during the FISA filibuster...
The President has said that American lives will be sacrificed if Congress does not change FISA. But he has also said that he will veto any FISA bill that does not grant retro-active immunity. No immunity, no FISA bill. So if we take the President at his word, he's willing to let Americans die to protect the phone companies.

Goddamn right, Teddy. Nicely done.

Fantastic job tonite by Chris Dodd who has been promising he would stop any FISA bill with telecom immunity, and led he charge. More on this later...
[h/t: Kos]

UPDATE: C&L has the video (and a transcript)...

Thursday, June 07, 2007

"Free Paris!" Oh, They Already Did?

You know, after Sarah Silverman's viscious beatdown the other day, I actually felt bad for Paris. She was forced to endure a level of public humiliation that was downright cruel, unwarranted, and in my opinion, cowardly of Silverman.

Now it seems that will be her only punishment (besides house arrest in a mansion, I mean)...

[/sympathy]