Showing posts with label the Family Furious. Show all posts
Showing posts with label the Family Furious. Show all posts

Monday, April 12, 2010

Back From the Grave...

...and not quite ready to party.

Bringing everybody up to speed...I am now relocated to Michigan sans the rest of the Family Furious. Mrs F and the Kids are remaining in N.C. to finish out the school year and hopefully sell the house in a timely manner. While one might have expected my "free" evenings to allow for massive quantities of blogging, it hasn't quite worked out the way.

My arrival here was hectic: for the first two weeks I was adjusting to a new job in the day, while helping my old job complete projects in progress in the evening. Then, last week Mrs F and the girls came to visit, and I wasn't going to waste any of their limited time here on the computer.

Oh, and my new job (and seating location) eliminates any blogging and surfing during the day.

Next thing you know it’s been nearly a month and I've barely blogged at all. The surprise, to me, has been how little I miss it. I've amped up the Facebook a bit, but that's not really a substitute for reading, writing or commenting on a normal blog. I just haven’t felt compelled to post about much of late.

So here’s what I expect going forward...

Things will probably be more sporadic, and when I DO post, it’ll be more stuff about the cars I’m driving and photographing...I’ll probably pull an Atrios and rely on posting links and quotes a bit more...embed video if we’re lucky. And if something really pisses me off, maybe it’ll result in a long-format tirade like the good ole days.

Sticking with the automotive theme...

PHOTOSHOP FAIL
“Who were the ad wizards that came up with THIS one?”

--

BATTERIES INCLUDED
Ass-kicking Canadian Nissan Sentra ad. (NOTE: Blogger is cropping like a third of the picture off, so you might want to click through to YouTube.)



[h/t Jalopnik. Also, making-of video here]

--

RECENT SHOOT:


More here.

Thursday, March 04, 2010

Update

As any of you who also follow Mrs Furious' blog already know, things are crazy and about to get crazier. I have accepted a job back in Ann Arbor, MI. I leave in 10 days while Mrs F and the kids stay behind to sell the house and finish school (whichever comes first).

So that has meant (and will mean) a flurry blizzard of activity around the house; finishing projects, cleaning, packing, repeatedly shitting our pants, and then cleaning our pants. At work I have a million loose ends to tie up, and once I leave I will be settling into a new job, trying to finish some ongoing work from my current job all while living with Mrs F's grandmother—which could be serious sitcom material in itself.

Needless to say, blogging is likely to fall by the wayside for a while. Even now I have several things flying around that I'd love to touch on, but don't really have time. Maybe I'll throw together a Link Bonanza or something.

That's all for now.

Wednesday, November 25, 2009

Gone Fishin'

The Family Furious is off the grid for the week. Back on the 30th.

Saturday, October 31, 2009

HAPPY HALLOWEEN



But, more importantly,

HAPPY BIRTHDAY, KID FURIOUS!


Saturday, July 11, 2009

Later...


I'm off to join Mrs F and the kids up at the cottage. I'll be gone a week, and from the sound of it, internet access is sporadic at best...so might be a slow week on the blog.

Sunday, June 21, 2009

Happy Father's Day. To Me.


It's now been (more or less) a year since we moved to Asheville and much like when I lived in New York City and never went to, say, the Statue of Liberty—we live mere minutes from several access points to the famed Blue Ridge Parkway, yet never use it. When I first toured the area last year when interviewing for my job, I took the Parkway back to the airport, and saw I families piling out of the car to enjoy the many trails and figured we'd be doing the same thing if we moved here. Um, notsomuch.

Anyway, I've been working on my photography of late, and decided I need to get up early and grab some sunrise pictures in the mountains. I've tried to get up, but could never rally, and get my ass out of bed.

I knew I'd have some more opportunity in July when Mrs F and the kids are away, but when I read that the Rhododendron are in peak bloom NOW, I figured I'd use the Father's Day Trump Card to take off in the morning and hit the road—with any luck I'd be home before anyone else was up. I set the alarm for 5:45, but Baby set hers for 5:10—I was good and awake now. Once Mrs F got her back to sleep, I made my escape. The weather was less than ideal, but around here ten miles one way or the other can be whole different scene (more on that later).

It's a slow and steady climb from Asheville's 2,300 foot elevation up to the Ridge. My first stop was at about 3400 feet, I'd missed sunrise, but it was pretty overcast so it didn't really matter. I had the the dog with me, the windows down and was really enjoying the drive. A little way further up, there was some okay visability, so I snapped off a few shots (the panorama upthread), but it was beginning to feel like the photo part of the trip was a bust, and this was turning into merely a scouting trip for a return with the family.

As I got up into the 5,000s and Craggy Gardens and the visibility was anywhere between a few miles and 30 feet. I shot some Rhododendron, and decided not to go any further ( I had hoped to make it to Mt. Mitchell). When I got back in the car, I took my first real look at the dash and about crapped my pants—the gas gauge was below empty.



For those not familiar with the Parkway, it can be miles between exits (30 or more) and even then, it's not like an Interstate with an Exxon at every ramp. It was 7:00 a.m., I was in the middle of nowhere, and the last thing I wanted to do was call Mrs F to come get me.

I could swear I had a quarter-tank when I left, and that should have been plenty, but I must have misjudged the gauge and then the long climb took its toll on fuel efficiency.

I then realized, "It's all downhill!"

I pulled out and began my descent. Cruising down the mountain in nuetral at a low idle, I decided I better kill the engine until I need it. It cost me the power brakes, but the slope, curves and banks made controlling the car a breeze. It was pretty fun actually...

My silent running had a completely unexpected advantage—the rabbits, wild turkeys, etc that had run for cover on the way up were all along the side of the road. Kinda cool. And then...along the bank I saw what I never dreamed I'd see...




I have a serious thing for bears. I love em. Everything about em. If there was Bear Week on Discovery Channel, you'd know where to find me. I have never seen a bear in the wild. Ever. My parents have a roll of film of a full-grown black bear in the yard at my childhood home—taken twenty years after I left for college. I've waited my whole life, and there it was: right at the side of the road. I coasted silently up, and stopped not twenty feet away.

Clearly a juvenile, I was more worried about the dog spotting him and barking before I could grab my camera. I still had my wide angle 17-35mm lens mounted, so he looks even further than he was, and it was set for my manual exposures in the fog at the top, so the photos are disappointingly blown out, and through the window glass (it was freezing at the top), but I managed to squeeze off six clean shots before he noticed me and took off.

I was positively giddy. I didn't care about the gas anymore, no matter what happened, this trip was a success.

I successfully conserved my fuel and made to a gas station at the bottom and returned home where everyone was asleep and there was no one to share in my glee. I climbed into the only available bed—Baby's toddler bed, and crashed.

Kid and Mrs F greeted me with iced coffee and donuts an hour or two later and at last I could show off my trophy.

All and all, a fantastic morning. I was ready to take the rest of the clan up there for a picnic when it cleared up in the afternoon. Or so I thought...

[to be cont'd.]

Saturday, April 11, 2009

Nor'Easter


The Family Furious is headin' out, road trip-style. Mrs F is supposed to go wedding gown shopping with her best friend in NYC, so we decided to make a pseudo-vacation out of it. A couple stops along the way, a couple days in and around New York and then back again. One wants to think that North Carolina is closer to NYC than Michigan, but it's actually almost exactly the same distance—actually slightly further...

Denizens of Gotham, beware. I'll be on the streets with two little girls, lookin' to rumble.

Sunday, February 15, 2009

Friday, October 31, 2008

God(desses) and Monsters


HAPPY HALLOWEEN & HAPPY BIRTHDAY KID FURIOUS!

Wednesday, June 11, 2008

Incommunicado

The Family Furious is off on vacation and we are going computer-free. I am operating (barely) on several nights of three to four hours of sleep in a row getting the house ready to go on the market while we're gone, and wrapping up freelance work.

I'm not even sure I am coherent. I actually fell asleep walking last night.

I will be catching up on my sleep with the breeze from the Atlantic ocean in my face.

We'll be back next Monday.

Friday, February 15, 2008

Intervention

The First Step Is Admitting You Have A Problem
Hello we are the Furious Family and we have clutter management issues...

Click through for the pics and self-flagellation.

Friday, February 08, 2008

Kid F Update


(Bustin' out the ole "Pig and Pascee" for the wagon ride to the O.R.)

SHE DID GREAT
Ruby's surgery went well, and we got home late this afternoon. The doctor went ahead and made a more aggressive correction that will hopefully allow us to avoid another procedure, or at least prolong the need for it. This time the muscles adjusted were the inner ones (towards the nose) and the redness (bloodiness) of her eyes is much less pronounced than last time. She is temporarily "cross-eyed" but that will self-adjust over the next couple weeks. And, bonus, we have drops for her eyes unstead of the dreaded greasy cream—much better! She is a totally bad-ass kid and never cried or complained, and seems to be managing any pain with Motrin and Tylenol, and is finally asleep for the night...

I am very proud of her.

Thursday, February 07, 2008

Kid Furious


Today's the day. Kid F has to go in for a second operation on her eyes. In brief, Kid has a problem with her eyes drifting out (sort of like what most people think of as "lazy eye"—but different). The procedure is basically repositioning muscles that control the eye to "force" it to point the right way. It's actually an overcorrection, and the theory is that young kids will train their brains to take over and control the eye to maintain full, binocular vision—otherwise, eventually the brain "picks" one eye and shuts off the other one. An explanation of the eye muscle surgery is here.

She had the first procedure last year, and it was not completely successful—she still exhibits the drift. So they are doing it again, and may have to do it again at some point in the future. We're hoping not, but realistically, it's likely.

The procedure is minimally invasive, and not too complicated (for eye surgery). It takes two hours, and she has to be out the whole time—that's the scarier part. And the after-care is a nightmare. She needs to have a steroid/antibiotic cream put in her eyes repeatedly—and it did NOT go well last time. Hopefully she'll be more reasonable at five than she was at four...

Send your positive energy, in whatever form you choose, towards Ann Arbor and my little girl—we'll use some and spread the rest around.

--

Here's the pre-op post from last year, and the recap. Normal blogging will resume when things calm down. We should be home Thursday afternoon, and I will update when possible. Check over at Mrs F's too.

Thursday, January 31, 2008

One








I Love You, Baby. Happy Birthday.

Mrs F. has more pics, and outshines me with her touching poem...

Sunday, September 09, 2007

"On Saturday we went to Applebee's..."


...and kicked some corporate ass! The Family Furious took it to the streets—that's Kid Furious and the missus "protestin' good in the neighborhood." Baby Furious is off-screen beating the shit out of an uptight prude. Mrs. F has the full story.

Sunday, July 29, 2007

Mrs. REALLY Furious...

Yesterday, Mrs. F decided to start another blog (!), and in the process of trying to start a new account to keep the Mrs. Furious (& Kids) blogs separate, she kept getting stymied by google/blogger recognizing her. She hastily deleted the new one—and all the others as well! Many a curse was uttered, and the mishap nearly derailed the whole weekend...

Even though the original blogs are deleted, she needed to create new addresses, and the links at the top of the blogroll (at right) reflect the update.

Just for the record, Mrs. F. now has four blogs going and is spending far and away more time on them than I do. And I'll add this as well: If I had somehow deleted this blog—after more than three years and hundreds of posts, plus a meager readership—I would have been livid/devastated, and she would have had no understanding and little sympathy for me. After just one week she is totally obsessed and now knows the stranglehold of addiction.

Monday, July 23, 2007

The Brood That Broods

Just think of us as the Von Trapps of Vehemence.

Mrs. Furious is in the early blogging honeymoon throes, and has started blogs for Ruby and Charlotte to go with her own. For those who know us and want to keep up with us and the offspring, I think the updates will be frequent since Mrs. F seems obsessed. For the intertrons-only aquaintances, here's your ticket to get to know us! Or mock us.

Thursday, February 08, 2007

The Best Kind of Busy

In case anybody's been wondering where I've been, I'm right here enjoying the latest addition to the family...

Charlotte Bell, er, Furious.
Born January 31, 2007



Mom, Dad and big sis Ruby are all doing great. I'll be around as time allows and the mood strikes me.